Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Penn State Fayette students honored for excellence at annual banquet

Brian Fernandes and Brent Lint
Penn State Fayette Director of Student and Enrollment Services Brian Fernandes (left) presents the 2011 Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award to Brent Lint.
5/17/2011 —

More than 30 Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus’ students received awards honoring academic and athletic achievements at the annual awards banquet held this spring. Among the evening’s top honors were:

The Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award, named in honor of the late Penn State President and Mrs. Eric Walker, was presented to Brent Lint. The award was established in 1971 to recognize a full-time undergraduate student who possesses outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship in programs and services that have positively influenced students and contributed to the campus and its prestige. A junior business major, Lint has been active on campus as well as in the community. He has served in several campus life and leadership organizations including the Student Government Association, Academic Affairs Committee, Student Activities Committee, THON Team, Blue and White Society, Business Club, and Pi Sigma Phi Honors Society. He also volunteers as a teaching aid Learning Center tutor, and note taker and mentor for Disability Services. In addition to campus life, Lint volunteers for numerous community service agencies including, Big Brothers Big Sisters, American Heart Association, Salvation Army, Lymphoma Society and he is an Eagle Scout. Lint has received several honors including the Port Family Public Service Award, and most recently the Herald-Standard Community Service All-Star Award.

The Dennis Hippo Memorial Award, in honor of Dennis Hippo, a member of Penn State Fayette’s first graduating class who was killed in action in Vietnam, is awarded to one male and one female full-time student each year. The recipients must exemplify the attributes of Hippo in the areas of leadership, campus and community involvement, academic persistence, service and altruism. This year’s award recipients were Brittany Mihalko and Corey Spaw. A junior engineering major, Mihalko has been involved in many campus clubs and organizations, including the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE); Women in Science Engineering and Technology (WISET); THON Team; Pi Sigma Phi Honors Society; and the Blue and White Society. Most notable, Mihalko founded Grow, Recycle Energize, and Educate for a better eNvironment (GREEN), a campus student club. Spaw is a junior Human Development and Family Studies major. He has been involved with the Student Government Association, where he served as a senator in 2010 and vice president in 2011. He has been active as a member of the THON Team for three years, serving as the financial captain in 2010 and morale captain in 2011. He is also involved in several clubs and organizations, including Lion Ambassadors, Diversified Students Association, Student Activities Committee and the Coalition for Equity.

The Scholastic Excellence Award recognizes students who compete in a written and oral academic research presentation. This year’s finalists were John Peck, Katie Smaniotto and Hongyuan Zhan. Zhan was the award recipient.

The complete list of student award winners includes:

Leadership Awards

  • Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award: Brent Lint
  • Dennis Hippo Memorial Award: Brittany Mihalko and Corey Spaw

University Awards

  • Evan Pugh Scholar Award: Jessica Smell
  • Freshman President’s Awards: Tyler Degusipe, Cody Gibson, Frances Gilmore, Brett Greene, Heather Hunchuck, Alan King, Mitchell McCloskey, Vincent Micoli, Samantha Molton, Jacob Phelps, Jerrett Porterfield, Brittney Stremp, Lisier Torres, Devon Tressler, Garrett Wingrove

Academic Awards:

  • Administration of Justice Student of the Year Award: Jason Wingfield
  • Associates in Business Award: Tricia Haas
  • Bachelors of Science in Business Award: Marissa Thomas
  • English and American Studies Award: Jessica Smell
  • Human Development & Family Studies Baccalaureate Award: Jennifer Cavallo
  • Kinesiology Award: Brandon Mitchell (Fall), Tyler Burd (Spring)
  • Math Award: William Aldom
  • Philosophy Award: Zachary Craig
  • Thelma Sandy Award in Nursing: Ashely Ludwig (Fall), Saumya Sebastian (Spring)

Campus Awards

  • Scholastic Excellence Award Winner: Hongyuan Zhan
  • Port Family Public Service Award: Brent Lint
  • Joanne Genova Sujansky Memorial Leadership Award: Rebecca Johnson
  • Drozd Family Humanitarian Assistance and Community Service Award: Therman King
  • Club of the Year Award: Superior Hotrods and Import Focused Team (S.H.I.F.T.)

Athletic Awards

  • United States Collegiate Athletic Association Academic All-American Honors: Nicole Garrety (women’s basketball); Ian McCombs (men’s basketball); Zack Rockwell and Michael Peton (golf); and Shannon Ardabell (softball)
  • United States Collegiate Athletic Association First Team All-American: Leah Ambrosini (volleyball)
  • United States Collegiate Athletic Association Honorable Mention: Katie Sleasman (volleyball) and Sam Beucher (baseball)
  • Pennsylvania State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) Player-of-the-Year: Leah Ambrosini (volleyball) and Sam Beucher (baseball)
  • Pennsylvania State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) Setter-of-the-Year: Katie Sleasman
  • Pennsylvania State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) Newcomer-of-the-Year: Jillian Guthrie (women’s basketball)
  • Pennsylvania State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) All-Conference First Team Honors: Jillian Guthrie and Kasey Ruble (women’s basketball); Jennifer Naymick (cross country); Leah Ambrosini, Katie Sleasman and Marney Hillen (volleyball); Seth Rockwell (golf); and Sam Beucher and Cody Ward (baseball); and Kasey Ruble (softball).
  • Pennsylvania State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) All-Conference Second Team Honors: David Winns (men’s basketball); Kayla Hatfield (women’s basketball); Alex Rossi (volleyball); and Sarah Swaney (softball)
  • Pennsylvania State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) All-Academic Team:
  • Sam Beucher (baseball); Ian McCombs, Chris Hunchuck and Alex Santella (men’s basketball); Nicole Garrety, Kayla Hatfield, Ashley Knauer and Shelby Yourchik (women’s basketball); Leah Ambrosini, Marney Hillen, Ashley Knauer, Lacey Matthews, Alex Rossi and Megan Tirpak (volleyball); Shannon Ardabell, Megan Hall and Sarah Swaney (softball); Jen Naymick (cross country); Seth Rockwell, Michael Peton, Marino McGalla and Robert Neubauer (golf); and Shannon Ardabell, Megan Hall, Marney Hillen, Taylor Lux, Jessica Roby and Sarah Swaney (softball).
Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter