Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Penn State Fayette faculty and staff receive Excellence Awards

6/12/2009 —
Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus recognized outstanding achievement and service among its faculty and staff at a special awards banquet recently. Awards were presented in six categories after nominations were considered by the various awards committees this spring.

The excellence awards for 2009 include:

2009 Administrative Excellence Award—presented to Instructional Materials Designer Bobby Salitrik, who received this award for her outstanding service to the Penn State Fayette campus, including working with the Lion Players’ Shakespeare performances, sharing her expertise in staging, sound effects and lighting techniques for cultural and community events on campus, assisting faculty and staff with their audio-visual needs, and working with students in the campus’ new Digital Commons.

2009 Scholarly Excellence Award—presented to Dr. Donald Liddick, associate professor of administration of justice, who in recent years published a book on eco-terrorism, a chapter in a respected collection of essays, a peer-reviewed journal article, and a number of encyclopedia entries related to his field of study.

2009 Teaching Excellence Award—presented to Dr. Joann Jankoski, assistant professor in human development and family studies, who is present for the students in the classroom, at athletic competitions and at many other activities on campus.

Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award—presented to Dr. Werner Pluhar, affiliate professor of philosophy, who has taught in the Philosophy Department at Penn State Fayette for more than 30 years. He has been described as the “model of a master teacher: always beautifully prepared and fascinating to learn from.” Dr. Pluhar retired from Penn State in May.

Barbara B. Solesky Staff Assistance Excellence Award—presented to Sherry Scully, administrative support assistant for Student and Enrollment Services, for her tireless efforts on campus in making it one of the region’s finest student-centered universities, and for her involvement in so many activities and events on campus which stand as a testament of her dedication to Penn State Fayette.

Ellen M. Laun Advising Excellence Award—presented to Bill Gardner, an instructor in business administration, for his commitment to Penn State Fayette’s students. Whether or not a student is his advisee, Gardner goes out of his way to provide assistance.

Also honored at the awards banquet were Penn State Fayette retirees Richard Cupelli, Geraldine Dorobish, Joy Fike and Patricia Zebrasky, as well as faculty and staff who reached significant years of service milestones:

  • Five years: Nathaniel Bohna, Frederick Botti, Lori Firestone, Vincent Gall, Dr. Joann Jankoski, Apryl Kadish, Sherry Scully, Kevin Slagle, Rosemary Williams and Billie Jo Yuhaniak
  • Ten years: Dr. Debra Evans Rhodes, Michelle Henrish, Dr. Janet Knott, Kevin Maxwell, Nicole Perret and Dr. John Rapano
  • Fifteen years: Janet Ritenour and Charlotte Stotelmyer
  • Twenty years: Dr. Fred Adams and Lynn Petko
  • Thirty years: David Meredith
See photos from the 2009 Celebrate Penn State Fayette awards banquet and dinner.
Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter