Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Six Penn State Fayette faculty and staff receive excellence awards

6/11/2008 —

Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus recognized outstanding achievement and service among its faculty and staff at a special awards banquet recently. Awards were presented in six categories after nominations were considered by the various awards committees this spring.

The excellence awards for 2008 include:

2008 Public Service Excellence Award—presented to Associate Professor of Political Science Dr. C. Michael Comiskey, who was honored for giving freely of his time and expertise to a wide variety of community initiatives. He serves the Yough River Trail as a board member, fundraiser, newsletter publisher, and public speaker; is a board member and fundraiser for the Wesley Health Center, a free medical clinic; is a counselor for citizenship badges for the Boy Scouts; and participates in the Connellsville Lion’s Club’s fundraising efforts for the visually challenged.

2008 Scholarly Excellence Award—presented to Assistant Professor of Biology Dr. Joseph Shostell in recognition of the quality and versatility of his research and scholarly work. Over the last four years his activities have included writing and publishing papers and books, obtaining grants, collaborating with colleagues at other universities, involving students in his research, and making presentations at conferences.

2008 Teaching Excellence Award—presented to Assistant Professor of English Dr. Danielle Mitchell. Dr. Mitchell was recognized for her high educational and professional standards, excellent instructional methods and materials, and her commitment to providing the very best opportunity for student growth and development. Dr. Mitchell also developed two new English courses, “Alternative Voices in American Literature” and “The Victorian Novel,” that were taught for the first time at Penn State Fayette.

2008 Support Services Excellence Award—presented to Joyce Barnhart, staff assistant to the chancellor. Barnhart’s professional manner, commitment and accomplishments have been recognized University-wide and have raised the bar in measuring performance excellence across the campus. In addition to being the recipient of this award for the second time, Barnhart has won numerous university awards during her long tenure at Penn State Fayette.

The Barbara B. Solesky Staff Assistant Excellence Award—presented to Staff Assistant Frank Georgiana, who was honored for his outstanding and consistent service to the campus community. The award is made to an individual who demonstrates graciousness, professionalism, earnest concern for others, and a sense of humor.

The Ellen M. Laun Advising Excellence Award—presented to Associate Professor of Engineering David Meredith, in recognition of his involvement and mentoring of most of the campus’ engineering majors. Meredith consistently strives to advise and guide students towards a better career path in many areas of engineering and nanotechnology.  

Also honored at the awards banquet was Professor Emeritus Dr. Nathan Viswanathan, who retired from Penn State Fayette’s faculty in December 2007, and faculty and staff who reached significant years of service milestones:

  • Five Years: Peter Eberle, Dr. Terry Halfhill, Janet Kowalczyk, Dr. Donald Liddick, Amy Mihalko, Dr. Danielle Mitchell, Dr. Joseph Shostell
  • Ten Years: Davida Cavallo, William Gardner, Allen “Randy” Tressler
  • Fifteen Years: Joseph Segilia
  • Twenty Years: Dr. C. Michael Comiskey and Earla Knoyer
  • Twenty-five Years: Dr. James Crawford, David DiPietro, Dr. F. Russell Filburn
  • Thirty Years: Bobby Salitrik, Dr. Evelyn Pluhar-Adams, Dr. Werner Pluhar
  • Thirty-five Years: Joy Fike, Louis Ridgley

Excellence Awards
Group photo of Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus Staff Excellence Award winners: (counter clockwise, from bottom left) Dr. Joseph Shostell, 2008 Scholarly Excellence Award; David Meredith, The Ellen M. Laun Advising Excellence Award; Joyce Barnhart, 2008 Support Services Excellence Award; Dr. Danielle Mitchell, 2008 Teaching Excellence Award; Dr. C. Michael Comisky, 2008 Public Service Excellence Award; and Chancellor Emmanuel Osagie (not present: Frank Georgiana, recipient of The Barbara B. Solesky Staff Assistant Excellence Award).

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter