Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Penn State Fayette students receive awards for excellence

6/3/2008 —

More than 50 students of Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus received awards for leadership, scholastic excellence and athletic achievements at a special awards banquet in May. Two of the evening’s top honors were leadership excellence awards.

The Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award, named in honor of the late Penn State President and Mrs. Eric Walker, was presented to Desiree Martin. The award was established in 1971 to recognize a full-time undergraduate student who best demonstrates the outstanding qualities of character, scholarship, leadership and citizenship. Martin was selected as a result of her extensive involvement in a multitude of leadership positions on and off campus, including planning and organizing a semester-long series of diversity-related events open to students and the public focused on the theme “The Dream Lives On.” Specific event topics covered included prejudice and hate, ethnicity, race, cultural backgrounds, sexual orientation, and disability.

The Dennis Hippo Memorial Award, in honor of Dennis Hippo, a member of Penn State Fayette’s first graduating class who was killed in action in Vietnam, is presented to one male and one female full-time student each year who most exemplify the attributes and contributions of Dennis Hippo in the areas of service, leadership, campus and community involvement, academic persistence and altruism. This year’s recipients are Marsha Adams and LaMar Hill. Both Adams and Hill have been extensively involved in numerous campus and community organizations, including student government, Lion Ambassadors, and working with area youth through a variety of local organizations.

The Scholastic Excellence Award, sponsored by the Penn State Fayette Advisory Board, is the highest academic award on campus. The Scholastic Excellence Award is based not only on high grades, but also on a rigorous competition of written and oral academic research presentations. This year’s finalists were George Aul, William Hugland and Franklin La Cava. La Cava was the award recipient.

The complete list of student award winners include:

Leadership Awards

  • Eric A. and Josephine S. Walker Award: Desiree Martin
  • Dennis Hippo Memorial Award: Marsha Adams, LaMar Hill

University Awards

  • Evan Pugh Scholar Award: Janice Collins
  • Freshman President’s Awards: Kayla Nuccetelli, Michael Pecsko, Nathan Sankbeil, Jessica Smell

Academic Awards

  • Administration of Justice Student of the Year Award:  Megan Carter
  • Undergraduate Research Award in Biology: Jamel Lewis, Robert Gratson, Jane Woods
  • Associates in Business Award: Kevin Labuda
  • Bachelors of Science in Business Award: William Hugland
  • English and American Studies Award: Tyler Resetter, Andrew Vinoverski
  • Associates in Human Development & Family Studies Award: Jane Woods
  • Bachelors in Human Development & Family Studies Award: Marsha Adams
  • Kinesiology Award: Alicia Daerr (Fall), Jessica Smell (Spring)
  • Leadership Excellence in Mining Award: Dennis Stiehler
  • Margaret Reilly Skomra Nursing Award: Lisa Mitchell-Cole
  • Thelma Sandy Award in Nursing: Diana Green (Fall), Melissa Walker (Spring)
  • Philosophy Award: Andrew Vinoverski, Britany Gallagher

Campus Awards

  • Scholastic Excellence Award Winner: Franklin La Cava
  • Port Family Public Service Award: Bri Nero
  • Rita P. Peters Scholarship: Amy Sparks
  • Student of the Semester Awards: Desiree Martin, THON Team, Roaring Lion newspaper staff
  • Learning Fair Winners, Non-research Based/Math and Science: Shelby McMahon, Joe Machnik
  • Learning Fair Winners, Research Based/Math and Science: Jane Woods, Robert Gratson, Lisa Martin
  • Learning Fair Winners, Non-research Based/Social Sciences: BA 422W Class
  • Learning Fair Winners, Researched Based/Social Sciences: William Hugland
  • Club of the Year Award: Humanities Society

Athletic Awards

  • United States Collegiate Athletic Association Academic All-American Honors:  Kelly Lloyd, Bethany Novotny, Eryn Thomas
  • Penn State University Athletic Conference Academic All-Conference Honors:  Sara Johnson, Heather Kelly, Meghan Leary, Kelly Lloyd, Bethany Novotny,  Mae Rossi, Maria Rossi, Ashley Ruble, Eryn Thomas
  • Penn State University Athletic Conference All-Conference Team: Meghan Leary (women’s basketball), Ray Nickens (men’s basketball)
  • Men’s Baseball MVP: Jared Early
  • Men’s Baseball Most Improved: Bobby Fulton
  • Men’s Basketball MVP: Ray Nickens
  • Men’s Basketball Most Improved: Greg Johnson
  • Men’s Golf MVP: Andrew Mitrisin
  • Men’s Golf Most Improved: Angelo Piccioni
  • Women’s Basketball MVP: Meghan Leary
  • Women’s Basketball Most Improved: Heather Kelly
  • Women’s Softball MVP: Brittany Washington
  • Women’s Softball Most Improved: Mae Rossi
  • Women’s Volleyball: MVP: Heather Kelly
  • Women’s Volleyball Most Improved: Meghan Leary


Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter