Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Student business plan contest winners announced!

12/12/2007 —
The winners of a student business plan contest with $1,000 in prize money at stake was decided today at Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus. Three teams—the finalists in the contest—made presentations of their business plans before the contest’s panel of judges at a forum open to the public, and the winners were announced shortly afterward.

The three-member student team of Michael Sible, Keith Verbosky and Christopher Miller was awarded First Place and $500 for their business plan proposal for a fireproofing company.

The four-member student teams of Terry Quaresimo, Megan Birkinsha, Vince Cossel and Brittany Washington, and Tiffani Crum, Jared Ealy, Jay Nagy and Kendall Sisler tied for Second Place and each team awarded $250 for their business proposals.

The judges panel was made up of local business experts: Penn State Fayette faculty member Dr. Danielle Mitchell and local businessmen William Blaney and William Jackson. Students participating in the contest were charged with designing and developing actual business plans. The criteria for judging included the viability of the proposed businesses and their being located in Southwestern Pennsylvania.

The student business plan contest was offered by the campus’ Center for Entrepreneurial Technology Education Services (CETES). Funding for the CETES contest was made possible by Penn State Fayette Chancellor Dr. Emmanuel Osagie. CETES is a Web-based, small business incubator that assists entrepreneurial-minded Penn State Fayette students.

Student Winners
Front row, from left: Penn State Fayette students Vince Cossel, Jay Nagy, and Michael Sible. Seated, from left: Students Jared Ealy, Tiffani Crum, Kendall Sisler, Keith Verbosky, and Christopher Miller. Back row, from left: CETES Director Peter Eberle; Chancellor Dr. Emmanuel Osagie; students Brittany Washington, Terry Quaresimo and Megan Birkinsha; contest judges Dr. Danielle Mitchell, William Blaney and William Jackson; and Student Business Plan Contest Chairman Bill Gardner.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter